E-scooters could be legalised in ‘transport revolution’

first_imgElectric scooters could be legalised on public roads as part of a ‘transport revolution’ under a government proposal, and will be tested in four areas in the UK during a £90m trial.The Department for Transport has proposed to legalise e-scooters on public roads in a consultation issued today to make journeys ‘easier, smarter and greener’. Under current laws, e-scooters can be used only on private land and riders caught on public roads or footpaths can face a £300 fixed-penalty notice and six points on their driving licence.Transport Secretary Grant Shapps, said: ‘We are on the cusp of a transport revolution. Emerging technologies are ripping up the rulebook and changing the way people and goods move forever. Our ground-breaking future of transport programme marks the biggest review of transport laws in a generation and will pave the way for exciting new transport technology to be tested, cementing the UK’s position as a world-leading innovator.‘This review will ensure we understand the potential impacts of a wide range of new transport modes such as e-scooters, helping to properly inform any decisions on legalisation. Funding these new zones across the country will also help us safely test innovative ways to get around, creating a greener future transport system for us all.’E-scooters, as well as drones delivering medical supplies will be piloted in four areas of the UK: Portsmouth and Southampton; the West of England Combined Authority; Derby and Nottingham; and the West Midlands. The trial will cost £90m and will allow experts to work with a range of local bodies such as councils, hospitals, airports and universities.The government will also consult on requirements for e-scooters and riders to ensure they are safe for use on roads. This includes a minimum age and vehicle standards as well as insurance requirements. The review will also consider if local authorities should have extra powers to manage the impacts of e-scooters on public space.last_img read more

Irish Sport Horse Studbook Eventing Series 2014 – Ballinamona

first_imgHome  »  Breeding News  »  Irish Sport Horse Studbook Eventing Series 2014 – Ballinamona This weekend see’s the first leg of the eventing series where all three age categories will be competing at the same venue at Ballinamona Equestrian Centre, Waterford.Billinamona will play host to 21 Irish Sport Horses in the 4 year old section, 45 Irish Sport Horses in the 5 year old section and 42 Irish Sport Horses in the 6 year old section.The Irish Sport Horse Eventing Series boasts a €1,000 prize fund per age category in each leg of the series plus additional Eventing Ireland prize money. The series also consist of €500 prize fund for the leading mare in each age class.The final leg and prize giving to all league winners of the ISH Eventing Series will take place in Scarvagh on the 6th September.   Owners, Breeders and Riders will be invited to attend.A full list of entries can be viewed here: ISH Studbook Eventing Series – Ballinamona startlistFor more information please see www.horsesportireland.ie/breeding/ish-studbook-eventing-series Tags: 26 June 2014, 18:31 Irish Sport Horse Studbook Eventing Series 2014 – Ballinamona last_img read more

Abelson gets 5,000 reasons to remember his first IMCA Modified Fall Nationals feature win

first_imgChris Abelson led all 40 laps and took the $5,000 IMCA Modified checkers at RPM Speedway’s Fall Nationals. (Photo by Carl Larson)HAYS, Kan. (Oct. 7) – If he’s remembering right, Chris Abelson had never won a race before Saturday at RPM Speedway.There are 5,000 reasons why he won’t forget his first IMCA Modified main event win at Hays.Abelson led all 40 laps of the Fall Nationals fueled by Casey’s feature, taking the $5,000 checkers ahead of Tyler Frye.After Friday’s program was lost to inclement weather, Abelson won his heat and topped the second qualifying feature Saturday afternoon to start on the outside of the front row in the main event that evening.“For the amount of rain they’d gotten, the track wasn’t that rough,” said Abelson. “I could run top, middle, bottom. I used different lines in traffic and to avoid rough spots.”Kelly Shryock, Tim Ward and Scott Drake rounded out the top five.“It’s been four or five year since the last time I was here,” said Abelson, already on the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot. “This year, the race we’ve been going to was on a different weekend so it really worked out for us.”Two hundred and eighty-four race teams were in town for the 11th annual event.Mike Nichols scored the $3,000 IMCA Sunoco Stock Car victory ahead of Casey Woken and Justin Bussell.Dustin Daniels’ Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod win paid $2,000 and came ahead of Kelly Henderson and Jake McBirnie.Eric Cross collected $1,500 for the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock checkers. Second was Cody Williams and Brandon Beeter was third.Monte Honas’ Mach-1 Sport Compact win paid $300. Rounding out the top three were Dillon Richards and Jakob Schwein.Feature ResultsModifieds – 1. Chris Abelson; 2. Tyler Frye; 3. Kelly Shryock; 4. Tim Ward; 5. Scott Drake; 6. Eddie Belec; 7. Justen Yeager; 8. Ryan Gaylord; 9. Clay Money; 10. Jeremy Frenier; 11. Jacob Hobscheidt; 12. Mike Petersilie; 13. Jeff Hunter; 14. Dylan Sherfick; 15. Randal Schiffelbein; 16. John Hansen; 17. Tanner Black; 18. Bill Brack; 19. Casey Delp; 20. Corey Burch; 21. Jordan Grabouski; 22. Brian Knoell; 23. Justin Gregg; 24. Corey Lagroon.Stock Cars – 1. Mike Nichols; 2. Casey Woken; 3. Justin Bussell; 4. Kyle Pfeifer; 5. Mark Zorn; 6. Mike Petersilie; 7. Daniel Gottschalk; 8. Shannon Maughlin; 9. Jason Rogers; 10. B.J. Wagoner; 11. Doug Adamy; 12. Austin Walker; 13. Chris Heim; 14. Nick Tubbs;15. Colby Deming; 16. Colin Heim; 17. Ron Hartman; 18. Cody Zimmerman; 19. Bruce Plumisto; 20. Ondre Rexford; 21. Chad Sterling; 22. Jeff Tubbs; 23. Dominic Thyfault; 24. Nolan Remus.Northern SportMods – 1. Dustin Daniels; 2. Kelly Henderson; 3. Jake McBirnie; 4. Jeff Hooker; 5. Blaine Walt; 6. Ethan Braaksma; 7. Lance Borgman; 8. Jacob Olmstead; 9. Ronnie Hultz; 10. Trent Roth; 11. Tyler Watts; 12. Arie Schouten; 13. Joshua Everhart; 14. Tracy Holloway; 15. Curtis Dreasher; 16. Steven Lewis; 17. Brett Berry; 18. Trenton Kleweno; 19. Cody Pancake; 20. Adam Weber; 21. Brian Davidson; 22. Dakota Sproul; 23. Cody Thompson; 24. Robby Rosselli.Hobby Stocks – 1. Eric Cross; 2. Cody Williams; 3. Brandon Beeter; 4. Duane Wahrman; 5. Brendon Stigge; 6. Wade Wagonblast; 7. Josh Barnhart; 8. Luke Wassom; 9. Zach Olmstead; 10. Riley Raynard; 11. Tyler Davis; 12. Gerald Spalding; 13. Brady Weinman; 14. Lyle Russell; 15. Adam Tiernan; 16. Travis Coop; 17. Brandon Wergin; 18. Mark Normandin; 19. Brady Larkus; 20. Hesston Shaw; 21. Brady Bencken; 22. Shay Simoneau; 23. Aaron Rudolf; 24. Robbie Kosmacek.Sport Compacts – 1. Monte Honas; 2. Dillon Richards; 3. Jakob Schwein; 4. Billy Turner; 5. Andrew Soderland; 6. Toby Schwein; 7. Alison Bird; 8. Clayton Feik; 9. Craig Kasther; 10. Travis Thelander; 11. Tyson Plumisto; 12. Ashlyn Bird; 13. Amber Bird; 14. Paul Whittenburg; 15. Otto Schutte; 16. Lezley Tubbs; 17. Marc Doucette; 18. Richard Crow; 19. Zachary Cardwell; 20. Tim Bouchey; 21. Chandler Schoenberger.last_img read more