CU-Boulder Students Receive Semester At Sea Scholarships For Fall 2000 Voyage

first_imgShare Share via TwitterShare via FacebookShare via LinkedInShare via E-mail The University of Colorado at Boulder Study Abroad Program receives six scholarships every semester from the Semester at Sea Program. The $7,000 scholarships are awarded to students going on the voyage and are based on financial need, academic standing, and the student’s ability to write and to be a good ambassador for the university and the United States. The Semester at Sea Program also offers a $2,000 scholarship for a CU-Boulder engineering student. There were no applicants for this scholarship for fall 2000. The Semester at Sea Program, which is sponsored by the University of Pittsburgh, became a CU-Boulder Study Abroad Program beginning with the summer 2000 voyage. This change means that CU-Boulder students now receive CU-Boulder credit, not transfer credit, for their coursework on Semester at Sea. Students also are able to participate during their senior year and apply financial aid to the program fee. The application deadline for spring 2001 scholarships is Oct. 1. For more information, contact the Study Abroad Programs Office located in the Environmental Design Building at (303) 492-7741, e-mail [email protected] or visit the Web site at www.colorado.edu/OIE/StudyAbroad/funds.html. The Semester at Sea office in the University Memorial Center, room 313, also may be contacted at (303) 492-5351. Following are the names of the fall 2000 Semester at Sea scholarship recipients, their hometown, award amount, and academic major:Arvada – Monica Williams, $7,000, SociologyBroomfield – Michelle Fowler, $7,000, Biological SciencesColorado City – Jodie Coombs, $7,000, Broadcast NewsGrandview, IL – Lewis Chia, $7,000, FinanceJuneau, AK – Brent Vollenweider, $7,000, Architectural EngineeringLone Tree – Jeffrey Berge, $7,000, Finance Published: Aug. 23, 2000 last_img read more

Huawei unveils 2016 flagship P9

first_img Related Steve works across all of Mobile World Live’s channels and played a lead role in the launch and ongoing success of our apps and devices services. He has been a journalist…More Read more Huawei founder urges shift to software AddThis Sharing ButtonsShare to LinkedInLinkedInLinkedInShare to TwitterTwitterTwitterShare to FacebookFacebookFacebookShare to MoreAddThisMore 06 APR 2016 Xiaomi ousts Huawei in Latin America smartphones HomeDevicesNews Huawei unveils 2016 flagship P9 Tags Previous ArticleChina’s Alipay expands in EuropeNext ArticleThai government considers options on forfeited 4G licence center_img Devices Huawei announced its 2016 hero smartphone, the P9, at an event in London today, placing photography at the heart of its proposition.“Consumers around the world use their smartphones to take billions of pictures each year, making photography critical to user experiences,” Richard Yu, CEO of Huawei’s consumer business group, said.The company made numerous references to its partnership with “premium, iconic” imaging brand Leica, an alliance announced at Mobile World Congress. It said the new device was “co-engineered” with the camera maker.P9 - CameraOliver Kaltner, CEO of Leica, took to the stage at the event to discuss the partnership. “Our companies share the same vision when it comes to photography, and we both put a lot of effort into ensuring quality. Our process really starts with the identification of customer need, and then developing the best solution to meet it,” he said.The device features a dual camera set-up, with 12MP resolution. This is supported by two image sensors: one captures colour, while the other is monochrome, which is said to deliver better light sensitivity and detail, with Yu saying the combination delivers “more vivid colour and more detail”.And the low-light performance was also trumpted. “In normal light conditions, most smartphones can take a good photo. But in low light conditions, it’s quite difficult for the smartphone,” Yu observed.Other highlighted feature include three film modes, standard, vivid colours and smooth colours, which “faithfully renders the authentic colour and style of Leica”. A wide-aperture feature also enables users to adjust the aperture to create various effects, while keeping the main object in focus.Away from the camera, the P9 sees a number of updates over the earlier devices in the line, although none of other changes received anywhere near as much screen time. It features an improved finger print sensor, which it said is more than a match for those used by its rivals, and a “virtual triple antenna” designed to offer improved mobile and Wi-Fi connectivity.As usual, Huawei did not shy away from making comparisons with the smartphone flagships of its rivals – Samsung and Apple.It said the P9 offers a 5.2-inch screen in a comparable body to Apple’s 4.7-inch iPhone 6s, with 423 pixels per inch compared with 326 ppi for the Apple device.And it said the P9 is 0.99mm thinner than Samsung’s Galaxy S7 and 0.15mm thinner than iPhone 6s, while also not having a pronounced camera “bump”.P9 is powered by Huawei’s new Kirin 955 processor, an octacore chip (4×2.5GHz and 4×1.8GHz cores). It has a 3,000mAh battery, with Yu talking up the battery life of the device.It is powered by Android 6.0, coupled with the latest version of Huawei’s EMUI customisation.The standard, 5.2-inch full HD screen standard version is joined by a 5.5-inch full HD “P9 Plus” sibling. This device also sees a bump in battery capacity, to 3,400mAh.The P9 Plus also gains support for pressure sensitive touch input – it is not the first Huawei device to support this, but it has not been widely adopted across its portfolio, either.Four colours are available: rose gold, prestige gold, titanium grey and mystic silver, with a “deluxe” option available in haze gold and ceramic white. The P9 Plus is available in haze gold, quartz grey and ceramic white.Pricing starts from €599 for the version with 3GB of RAM and 32GB of storage, rising to €649 with 4GB of RAM and 64GB of storage.The P9 Plus version is €749 with 4GB of RAM and 64GB of storage.Availability begins on 16 April, in a number of global markets.TalkBand updateHuawei also unveiled an updated version of its TalkBand wearable, called TalkBand B3.B3 (1)It said that while reflecting the designs of earlier versions, it also introduces “stylish new elements”. These include high-end materials, including “genuine Italian leather and high-grade stainless steel for the strap”.The curved touch screen also features an anti-fingerprint coating to protect against smudges and scratches.It is available in three versions: Active (white, black) at €169, Classic (beige, brown) at €199 and Elite (titanium grey) at €249. Steve Costello Xiaomi Q4 boosted by Huawei woes Author HuaweiLeicaP9last_img read more

E3 2018: When and where to watch all the press conferences

first_img 0Sign inorRegisterto rate and replySign in to contributeEmail addressPasswordSign in Need an account? Register now. E3 2018: When and where to watch all the press conferencesFull details of all the major showcases from Xbox, PlayStation, Nintendo and more ahead of next week’s expoGamesIndustry StaffWednesday 6th June 2018Share this article Recommend Tweet ShareLurking in the near distance like a hungry bear with a sales pitch, E3 is almost upon us. While it’s unlikely we’ll see any major hardware announcements, there’s a lot on the table and it’s already lining up to be a big year for games.Microsoft needs to prove the Xbox is still relevant, while Sony is poised to drive the knife in even further. Nintendo meanwhile has a lot of momentum and goodwill from 2017, but now is the time to show it’s still on a roll. We discussed all this and more on our recent E3 Expectations episode of The GamesIndustry.biz Podcast.With nine conferences/video streams this year, it’s a lot to keep up with. We’ll be posting individual stories where you can stream each conference, but in the meantime here’s our handy guide on when and where to watch everything. Electronic ArtsSaturday, June 9 11:00 PST / 14:00 EST / 19:00 BST / 04:00 AEST (Sunday)Kicking off the press conference marathon is EA Play. Perhaps the most predictable of the lot, we can expect to see plenty of sports, some Battlefield V gameplay, and what BioWare has been up to with Anthem. There’s not much room for surprises in there, but the publisher will likely be ready to show off a little of its next EA Original offering. You can watch it via EA | Twitch | YouTubeMicrosoftSunday, June 10 13:00 PST / 14:00 EST / 21:00 BST / 06:00 AEST (Monday)Xbox has confirmed it will taking a deeper diver on previously announced games, such as the long-awaited Crackdown 3, but also “trailers for our unannounced titles coming in 2018 and beyond”. Relying primarily on its back catalogue of blockbusters like Halo and Gears of War, the first-party offering from Xbox has been fairly lacklustre recently, but with the success of the Xbox One X, perhaps the platform holder is ready to show off something new. You can watch it via Microsoft | Twitch | YouTubeBethesdaSunday, June 10 18:30 PST / 21:30 EST / 02:30 BST (Monday) / 11:30 AEST (Monday)Bethesda has already given us a glimpse of its hand with the announcement of Fallout 76 and Rage 2, so we can expect to see both of those games in more detail. With Skyrim now seven years behind us, a new Elder Scrolls installment seems as likely as anything from Bethesda’s fresher but less successful IPs like Wolfenstein, Prey, and Doom. You can watch it via Bethesda | Twitch | YouTubeDevolver DigitalSunday, June 1020:00 PST / 23:00 EST / 04:00 BST (Monday) / 13:00 AEST (Monday)More of an unsubtle jab at the pomp of typical press conferences than an actual conference itself, Devolver’s offering last year set the bar very high for surreal meta humor. Presumably we can expect something similar this year, only bigger and weirder. You can watch it via Devolver | Twitch | YouTubeSquare EnixMonday, June 1110:00 PST / 13:00 EST / 18:00 BST / 03:00 AEST (Tuesday)Returning after a few years without an E3 conference, Square Enix is offering up a “special video presentation” that will, most likely, taunt fans with more promises of Final Fantasy VII remake, and Kingdom Hearts III; if they’re feeling generous, some release dates may even materialise – or maybe a glimpse of their Avengers project? Either way, definitely except to see a lot from Shadow of the Tomb Raider and perhaps even a thick layer of new Final Fantasy XIV content. You can watch it via Square Enix | Twitch | YouTube UbisoftMonday, June 1113:00 PST / 16:00 EST / 21:00 BST / 06:00 AEST (Tuesday)It’s set to be a big one for Ubisoft this year. Along with more on Beyond Good & Evil 2, the publisher is doubling down on its games-as-a-service content, showing off new stuff from Rainbow Six: Siege, For Honor, Skull and Bones, and The Division 2. Additionally — apparently having learnt nothing from the decision to take a year-long break between Assassin’s Creed releases — Ubisoft will almost certainly be showing off Assassin’s Creed Odyssey in extensive detail. You can watch it via Ubisoft | Twitch | YouTubePC Gaming ShowMonday, June 1115:00 PST / 18:00 EST / 23:00 BST / 08:00 AEST (Tuesday)PC Gamer returns to E3 this year with another PC Gaming Show promising content from publishers, indie developers, and hardware manufacturers. You can watch it via PC Gaming Show | Twitch | YouTubeSonyMonday, June 1118:00 PST / 21:00 EST / 02:00 BST (Tuesday) / 11:00 AEST (Tuesday)With an extensive catalogue of exclusive IPs — both old and new — Sony is in a strong position to steal the show. Along with a more in-depth look at The Last of Us II, we can likely expect some more concrete information on whatever mysterious project From Software has been working on now Dark Souls and Bloodborne have been neatly squared away. Chances are Call of Duty will also make its appearance on the PlayStation stage, and it could even be where we get our first real look at Red Dead Redemption II. You can watch it via PlayStation| Twitch | YouTubeNintendoTuesday, June 12 09:00 PST / 12:00 EST / 17:00 BST / 02:00 AEST (Wednesday)As ever, Nintendo is happily doing its own thing quietly in the corner. With the Switch release more than a year behind us, and Nintendo having offered up a steady stream of strong, first-party releases, things have started to peter out for the wonderchild of 2017. Related JobsSenior Game Designer – UE4 – AAA United Kingdom Amiqus GamesProgrammer – REMOTE – work with industry veterans! North West Amiqus GamesJunior Video Editor – GLOBAL publisher United Kingdom Amiqus GamesDiscover more jobs in games While it’s hard to know where exactly Nintendo is going with the Switch next, the publisher rarely fails to make a splash at E3. Even so, expect to see a lot more on Pokémon Let’s Go and Super Smash Bros.You can watch it via Nintendo | Twitch | YouTubeGamesIndustry.biz will be reporting on E3 2018 all week, both from the show itself and via our worldwide team. Follow all the latest news, interviews and analysis via our dedicated feed.Celebrating employer excellence in the video games industry8th July 2021Submit your company Sign up for The Publishing & Retail newsletter and get the best of GamesIndustry.biz in your inbox. Enter your email addressMore storiesActivision no longer working with Call of Duty actor after hateful sexist commentsA video resurfaced on social media showing Jeff Leach making offensive, sexual and threatening remarks targeting women By Marie Dealessandri 2 days agoHow Women in Gaming survived its publisher’s demiseMeagan Marie explains how Crystal Dynamics stepped in after Prima Games, the original publisher of her book, shut down right after launchBy Brendan Sinclair 4 days agoLatest comments (1)Michael Burnham2 years ago Worth noting that the Microsoft show time for BST is likely meant to be 21:00 (9pm) not 09:00 (9am) as listed above. Thanks for listing them out.last_img read more